Posted by: gypsytales | November 9, 2010

Confessions of a Coffee Lover

For the coffee lover there is no describing the involuntary reaction that occurs when the initial hint of ground coffee beans wafts past an unsuspecting nose.  Granted, it could possibly be the pull of addiction, but really now, who’s watching? 

Since arriving in Knysna we are on the not so impossible mission of seeking out the best coffee in town.  Initially it was a coffee a day but due to all sorts of reasons, one of which may be the budget, we have had to restrict our coffee cravings to twice a week.  Fortunately I have full confidence that we will break this commitment before too long.  I can safely add that since beginning this post a couple of days ago we have faithfully continued with our custom of a coffee day.

Make no mistake, I’m no coffee connoisseur but I am a coffee snob, more specifically a cappuccino snob.  But then again just like beauty is in the eye of the beholder, so I guess taste is the penchant of the purveyor. 

Within nanoseconds of the arrival of my cappuccino my internal adjudicator is alerted to attention.  All 6, yes 6 senses become engaged and as every sound around me grows strangely dim I’m hypnotised by the aerial view of my cup.  The initial presentation will raise or lower the expectation of what I’m about to taste.  I’ve already hinted at the response to the smell of coffee beans but before I can take a sip I clasp my hand around the cup to estimate the temperature.  A cold cup will never be able to redeem itself, no matter how good the roast.  The part that I enjoy the most, before I am able to sample the coffee, is to confront the gatekeeper of  firm, deep froth before allowing a trickle to leak through.

Only then, does the liquid blend of bean and spice assault all my senses….demanding a verdict.

So what’s your verdict?

Below are a couple of quirky and humorous coffee quotes: 

  • Drink Coffee: Do stupid things faster with more energy – see Amazon
  • I never drink coffee at lunch.  I find it keeps me awake for the afternoon – Ronald Reagan
  • I’d stop drinking coffee; but I’m no quitter – author unknown
  • I have measured out my life with coffee spoons – T.S. Eliot
  • This guy makes coffee nervous – Bobby Heenan on the Ultimate Roider
  • In Seattle you haven’t had enough coffee until you can thread a sewing machine while it’s running – Jeff Bezos
  • Unattended children will be given an espresso and a free puppy – sign at a coffee shop in Knysna
Responses

  1. We too are coffee nuts! Our favourite: Lattés at Sedgefield’s Timberlake.
    BrenRogMike

  2. All sounds delicious! When you get back to PE, will definately take you for the best cuppa in town at Vovo Telos! Planning a road trip to CT before Christmas, so if you guys are still around that neck of the woods then, we will definately see you. Loads of love

  3. Francis – a coffee snob after my own heart! I have now had cuppuccino, er..caposhino, er…cappachino, er..espresso with hot milk and steamed milk froth (was there ever a word with so many possible spelling variations??) twice at Bean There, Jonno and Sarah Robinson’s coffee shop at 44 Stanley, and they have to be up with the best. You can watch beans being roasted in the middle of the shop while you sit and sip your brew (AND they have wi-fi!) You must try it when you’re up in the Big Smoke again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

