Posted by: gypsytales | July 20, 2010

42 is the Answer to the Universe

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.” (Tim Cahill) and according to the book “Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Universe” written by Douglas Adams…the answer to the universe is 42.

So with the combination of the travel quote above and Douglas Adams’ hypothesis, my 42nd birthday in a high altitude Andean village here in Peru has culminated in a journey measured in friends. 

Barry had clandestinely gathered everyone in the kitchen and while I was busily inspecting guest rooms in preparation for one of the busiest nights of the season he asked me to take a seat at the dining room table.  Initially I thought he was going to tell me to slow down (I might have been displaying signs of excitability at the thought of the amount of guests arriving later that afternoon) but then with a mischievous grin he opened the kitchen door and in trooped all our ex-pat friends singing happy birthday and balancing a chocolate cake from Heart’s Café. 

So I guess 42 is my year and while “Living on Earth may be expensive, it does include an annual free trip around the sun”. (travel quote) 

 

Responses

  1. The surprise must have been fun ,seeing old friends is always great glad you had a good day Love Mom xxxxxx

  2. So glad I came accross your blog. You look great, and happy b-day, even though I’m a few days late. Take care


Leave a Reply

Categories

