Posted by: gypsytales | March 21, 2010

Hey, I Can Float!

Ceja Lagoon

We were looking forward to visiting Ceja Lagoon where we would be able to swim and test out our floating ability.  The weather was perfect, but then again, when is it not?  As I’ve previously mentioned, the possibility of rain is almost impossible, with seldom a cloud in the sky, this is one place on earth your weather predictions are bound to be 100% accurate every time.

We were cautioned to wear sandals around the lagoon as the salt crystals have formed into a million tiny points as sharp as glass.  With the water as clear as a looking glass and invitingly tepid I couldn’t wait to give it a go.  Within seconds of entering into the lagoon this strange sensation of being pushed up from below kept my body as buoyant as a cork.  At one point I rolled over onto my stomach and no matter how much effort I made I was unable to keep my behind from unceremoniously popping out of the water.  But due to the high percentage of salt in the water, over “floating” could lead to dehydration.

watch out for the "cut glass"

In this picture I was desperately trying to get Barry to quickly take the photo as I was floating dangerously close to the shelf of “cut glass” salt crystals.  I had already felt their punishment when I had previously tried to exit the pool and slipped only to have all the tips of my toes slashed with a million (well it felt like a million) little cuts that afterwards burned with a resounding pain from the salt.

is this my husband?

Just next to the lagoon was the mud bath where we all lathered ourselves in thick black, salty clay.  Small chips of salt, the size of chocolate chips, gave us a generous exfoliation.  We all thought how much people pay for this simulated treatment back in the cities and here we were experiencing the real deal.

Fresh water is required to rinse with.  Without it our bodies were covered in fine salt that looked like we’d been dusted with icing sugar – although we didn’t taste as sweet as we looked.  Even though we’d rinsed our costumes again and again, the following morning they were still as stiff as a washboard.

pisco sours and snacks at sunset

We had sundowners overlooking one of the salt pans, watching the desert sun slip below the horizon while we sipped cocktails of pisco sours and ate olives.

Responses

  1. Haha looks like you had fun 🙂

  2. I thought maybe your presence would bring on the rain as I thought on those other occasions when it rained on our hiking trips – guess I was wrong!

  3. I’m so jealous!


Leave a Reply

Categories

