Posted by: gypsytales | October 15, 2009

Do You Dream by Day or by Night?

 

“All men dream; but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act out their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.” — T.E. Lawrence (1888-1935) a.k.a Lawrence of Arabia

Provocative – isn’t it? 

There was a time I dreamed by night, in the dusty recesses of my mind, only to wake and find it all vanity.  But when I started to become a dreamer of the day, indeed, it became dangerous.

My husband married me knowing that the thrill of adventure is what keeps me alive, not fancy clothes, jewellery or makeup.  He says I’m the only woman he knows that develops anaphylactic shock when I have to go shopping. 

It wasn’t so much that my dreams bothered my husband, but rather when they began to change shape, this is probably the time he thought things were becoming dangerous and like Newton’s Law of Motion, there was bound to be an equal and opposite reaction after I’d taken action.    Like the time when my husband was feeling despondent and frustrated with his career in the corporate sector and I’d been longing for ages for us to just fly the coop and for him to pack up his troubles in an old kit bag and smile, smile, smile.  “It’s not so simple”, he’d reply.  “But why not?”, I’d retort. 

But the dream had been taking shape and one day, after paging through a travel magazine, I sms’d my husband.  “Honey I think you’d be a terrific photographer, how does it sound?”  Within seconds he gives me a call and by the end of the conversation we’ve made a date to go and buy a camera.  Newton’s Law of Motion kicked in again once we’d visited the camera shop and an opposite reaction occurred.  “There’s no way you can become a photographer Honey, did you see the price of that camera?” I exculpated.  Well this little story took place just over 3 years ago, and now my husband no longer looks at life through an office window, instead he lives life through the lens of his camera.

So much has happened during the past 3 years.

  • we’ve buried 4 family members
  • stood bedside my father’s bedside before going in for multiple by-pass heart surgery
  • lost all our investments on a business venture
  • almost lost my husband in a near fatal car accident
  • discovered my sister is  suffering from kidney failure

….and now we’ve sold our home, along with all our belongings….to fly the coop.  There’s always a cost associated to living the dream, and I’m not only referring to matters of finance here.  I hope we never dream with our eyes closed again.

 

Responses

  1. There are those who dream a good dream – and then chose to wait for the next dream

    There are those who dream a good dream – and then chose to live the dream

    Congratulations on making the right choice

    Uncle Mike

  2. Those are some truly inspiring, yet touching words! Love your dreamy nature and although it seems so fragile, your words and your spirit makes me want to dream some new ‘dream for the day’ and pack our backpacks again, or do something else worth to live for :).
    Thank you for those words.

    I will study both of your blogs, and I will definitely ENJOY to travel with you virtually.
    I am soooo happy for both of you to be able to leave your dream now. You are such wonderful people, who deserve nothing but the best, and I know you will attract other good souls of this world, having the best time ever! GOOD LUCK!
    Warmest regards form Krakow,

    Magda (from CS)


Leave a Reply

Categories

