Posted by: gypsytales | October 5, 2009

Before and After Pictures

Before and After Pictures

Before

Before

Before

Before

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even though I’ve had a life long dream to travel I don’t think my husband initially shared the same sentiments.  We weren’t even married a year and I can remember exactly where we were when I asked my husband if we could pack up and head for the high road of adventure.  His sage reply reminded me that he needed to provide for us and plan for our future.  But the agreement was that when he had had enough of corporate politics, hours sitting in traffic, endless meetings and trapped with the golden handcuffs of company benefits, I’d be waiting. 

Well….that day did come and he wanted out of the rat race and I said, “You must be joking, I don’t want to go back to the beginning again, besides if you die I’ll be a very wealthy widow with all those benefits”.

A comfort zone is like a slow leak, you don’t actually notice it at first.  The problem is all the good stuff  is leaking out, like creativity, inspiration, resilience, fortitude and weakness sets in as we try from month to month to work harder, earn more, buy more.  The reality is things get more expensive so you pay more to have more but you don’t own your possessions, they own you.

We always ask ourselves one question when we are about to embark on a new direction, “So what’s the worst that can happen?”

Leaving behind corporate jobs, stuffy offices, air conditioning and fluorescent lighting my husband switched careers to take up photography full-time.  This change of lifestyle has helped to plug up the leaks providing opportunities that we couldn’t find when we were comfortable.  

After

After

After

After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So we’ve sold all our worldly possessions to go and travel and take pictures.

“What’s the worst that can happen, right?”

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

